Tunnels by Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams

January 20, 2008

Just finished reading Tunnels, by Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams. The book has been billed as the next Harry Potter series, which, I have to say, makes me more skeptical than encouraged.

Will Burrows is a boy who likes to dig tunnels in and around his English hometown. In fact, exploring tunnels is essentially the only thing he has in common with absent-minded professor father, with whom he excavates abandoned underground structures. He has less in common with his mother, glued to the TV, or his impossibly efficient little sister Rebecca. When Will’s father disappears, presumably into a tunnel, Will follows with a friend, Chester, to find him.

The book is wonderful, dark, creepy, scary at times, but in a way that gets one to pull for the protagonist Will, and makes me hungry for more from the series. Regrettably, we will have to wait until Spring 2009 for the next installment, titled Dirt. Reminds me a little bit of Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere, in its depictions of an alternate world below ours.

Here is the official website for the book, and here is a nice fansite, Topsoiler.

11 Responses to “Tunnels by Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams”

  1. Cliff Burns Says:

    I had to order a copy of TUNNELS from England in order to give it to my sons for Christmas (it wasn’t released here in North America until this month). They were taken with it but NOT blown away. Better for them was Philip Reeve’s MORTAL ENGINES and, especially, Conn & Hal Iggulden’s DANGEROUS BOOK FOR BOYS.
    Thanks for this…


  2. Thank you for your very kind comments on our book. Do you know, Brian and I started out with only the ambition to self-publish the first and, maybe, if we could afford it, the second book in the series. We never expected or dreamed that anything more would come of The Highfield Mole, but somewhere along the line we got hijacked and a real publisher signed us up. And we’ve never said that our book is the next Harry Potter or, indeed, the next anything. We would never make such a claim, and I don’t believe the phenomenon that Joanna Rowling has created will happen again in my lifetime. She has inspired legions of kids to put aside their video games and switch off their TVs, and pick up her books and actually READ. If I wore a hat, I would take it off to her. In fact, if it hadn’t been for her, I doubt that Tunnels or many of the other books which have followed in her wake would have seen the light of day.

    Thanks again, and now I’d better get back to work …

  3. local stalker Says:

    Hurry with the second book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Emilie Says:

    I just wanted to let this message because this book make me feel very good because i ‘ve waited so long to find another book who give me the desire to continue reading it and to wait for another one. The last one who gave me that was Harry Potter so thank you for this book.

    Sorry for my English but I’m french.

  5. johnson Says:

    hey, me and my parents have now read your book. Funny I barely even read books and just happened to pick this one up in a store randomly. We await part 2!
    Thanks

  6. dianne Says:

    Asked my friend in England to send it to me–Love the book!! Sat on the exercise bike and read it…couldn’t wait until the next time I went to the gym..it was so good to want to read it …so, I really am looking forward to DIRT! 🙂 Keep it up…want to see what happens to Will, Chester, and his father, and his evil “sister”…..

  7. Sandra Says:

    check out the Polish wesite for Tunnels 🙂 http://www.ksiazkatunele.pl

  8. Will Burrows Says:

    Check out the Spanish Forum for Tunnels 🙂 http://www.profundidades.esforos.com

  9. Coprolite Says:

    i loved the book cant wait for Deeper

    “It’s only a Coprolite.”

  10. Coprolite Says:

    /Tunnels/large4.gif

  11. jominy Says:

    hey there. i read about the book on the internet. does anyone know if a pdf is available for download anywhere? i ca’n get the book yet. thx!


Leave a Reply

