Reading: Kage Baker’s Company Books

November 30, 2007

I guess it was post Deathly Hallows depression, but this summer I was looking for another multivolume escapist saga to take me away from the desert. I found Kage Baker’s Company books, which is about a company called Dr Zeus, Inc., a 24th century company that creates immortal cyborgs that they send back through time to preserve bits of history, be they plants or works of art, for the idle rich in the future. Dr Zeus can’t change any part of written history, but they can modify small things, hiding them away to be rediscovered in the future.

Something about the description of the books grabbed me, and I dove into the first book, In the Garden of Iden. That book was wonderful, as were the next few (Sky Coyote and Mendoza in Hollywood). However, at some point I think I got a little weary of the entire weight of the narrative, all of the threads and ideas that Baker was juggling. However, Sons of Heaven, the last book, brought the series to a neat, if not a little too pat, conclusion, and I was glad that I had stuck with the books the whole way.

I don’t see this as a series of books that I’ll read and reread over and over again, but it was a nice escape this summer and autumn.

The Company books are:

End Links:

Leave a Reply

