Psyco on Mac OS X

November 30, 2007

Inspired by all of the recent talk about python and speed, I thought I would test out the state of the art of Psyco (the Python just-in-time compiler) on Mac OS X. Now, The Ultimate Psyco Guide clearly states that its requirements are:

A 32-bit Pentium or any other Intel 386 compatible processor. Sorry, no other processor is supported. Psyco does not support the 64-bit x86 architecture, unless you have a Python compiled in 32-bit compatibility mode.

But surely they couldn’t be serious. I mean, those rules don’t apply to me, right? Me and my Core 2 Duo i386 64-bit processor.

Evidently, they do. Everything compiled and ran fine, but I got an illegal instruction when I tried to run. C’est la vie, just a matter of time until this works, I guess.

2 Responses to “Psyco on Mac OS X”

  1. extrapreneur Says:

    I don’t think they should apply to everyone, but I guess they do and hey, now you’re a lawbreaker! lol. Check out my blog at http://www.extrapreneur.wordpress.com

  2. Gary Says:

    Psyco 1.6 with MacOS X support was released a few days ago. Have you given it a spin?


Leave a Reply

