The Raw Shark Texts by Steven Hall

November 26, 2007

This is the best book I’ve read in a long, long time. The Raw Shark Texts is a new book by Steven Hall. Actually, it isn’t a new book at all, it’s over six months old, and has already made it into paperback. Despite great efforts on my part to track down good new writing, I completely missed the publication, and only heard of it when I read a review in Paste Magazine. I read Paste for it’s music reviews, but it does a credible job of movies and other elements of culture, and its book review section is good.

Seems like the book has made a huge splash. Squidoo has a page on the book, and it seems that Nicole Kidman liked it so much she asked Hall to change the gender of the protagonist so she could play the movie role.

It’s easy to see why the book is making such an impact. One of my favorite movies of 2004 was Eternal Sunshine, in part for the way it took serious postmodern themes like what constitutes our identity and dealt with them in a light, humorous way, as well as mixing in an engaging love story. Raw Shark Texts is cut from the same cloth, written with as much truth and beauty and light, and is as much a joy to read as Eternal Sunshine was to watch.

I’m not going to say too much about this book, because it’s just too wonderful to risk spoiling anything that happens. But it’s a great, great book, and I can’t imagine you’ll regret tracking down a copy.

End Links:

3 Responses to “The Raw Shark Texts by Steven Hall”


  1. […] Auster’s Book of Illusions December 6, 2007 The Raw Shark Texts, which I’ve mentioned that I love, made several references to the works of Paul Auster, in particular to his 1982 […]


  2. […] read. I had never heard of the book before seeing a review in Paste Magazine (who also recommended Raw Shark Texts, so they’re two-for-two), but have since learned it was one of the books that received […]


  3. I just finished this one and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was completely not what I expected, and I’m so glad someone thought to give it to me.

    As a sidebar, Paste is awesome, isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

