Why don’t more people use libraries?

November 22, 2007

Why don’t more people use their libraries? It has now been a year since I discovered my own. For most of my adult reading era, I bought books at bookstores: used bookstores when I was poor and in Graduate School, and Amazon.com as I started to make some money. But there were some problems with this strategy. I bought a lot of books. This was expensive, and eventually led to a storage problem. I also bought a lot of books that I never read.

All along I had assumed that libraries were too inconvenient to be part of my regular drill, but libraries have gotten very modern of late, what with the intraweb and all. I can now place holds on my library’s website, and drop in every week or so to pick up new books and return old books.

In the past year, I’ve checked out almost 200 books. I haven’t read all of these, but one of the luxuries of checking out books from the library is that I don’t have to keep reading a book if it no longer grabs me. I’ve read a few great books (more on these in a later post), and many good ones. I’ve saved a huge amount of money, as well as a great amount of room.

I do tend to read books over and over again, and a few of the books that I’ve checked out of the library I’ve missed having on-hand to reread. But I can always check them out again, or buy the ones I really loved.

You can find your local libraries online at http://www.publiclibraries.com.

One Response to “Why don’t more people use libraries?”


  1. […] As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a huge fan of my local library. Through their web site I subscribe to several booklists that are managed by DearReader. New Fiction, New SciFi, Hot Picks, etc. […]


Leave a Reply

