Platypus: Macintosh Unix/Python/Ruby/etc scripting with pretty icons

November 21, 2007

One of those toys that I keep telling myself I need to do more with is Platypus, which is a development tool that wraps unix/python/ruby/whatever scripts in pretty icons, complete with drag-and-drop and other snazzy bells and whistles. This is one of those things that is easy to do a bad job of, but hard to do a good job of, and they’ve done an exceptional job of writing a complete framework. There’s a posting here that’s a good starting point.

One thing I wish Platypus had was better support of dialog boxes in the scripts; they currently  require CocoaDialog, which seems like a hack to me, and probably more trouble than it’s worth.

2 Responses to “Platypus: Macintosh Unix/Python/Ruby/etc scripting with pretty icons”


  1. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and may come back later in life. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a nice day!

  2. Cathleen Says:

    Excellent items from you, man. I have have in mind your stuff prior to and you are just extremely great.
    I really like what you’ve acquired right here, really like what you’re
    saying and the way in which in which you are saying it.
    You are making it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise.
    I can not wait to read much more from you. This
    is actually a great web site.


Leave a Reply

