ipython

January 17, 2004

Just discovered ipython, an improved interactive shell in python. I had been thinking about writing something similar to create a Mathematica-like workbook in Python. I’m going to check out ipython to see how good it is, and whether it can be used as a starting point for this. The point is that by far the feature I like most about Mathematica’s notebooks are the ability to embed plots in with pages of derivations and data analysis. It would be nice to be able to do something similar in Python. I was thinking about porting the output to a Tkinter drawing pane to see if I could pipe the commands and output there.

I’m also interested in SCONS, a Makefile replacement written in my favorite language. Makefile can be frustratingly inflexible, and it would be nice to have something more intelligent.

Leave a Reply

